PLURISM(Switzerland/South Africa)

Feya Faku – Trumpet and flugelhorn
Mthunzi Mvubu – Alto saxophone
Sisonke Xonti – Tenor saxophone
Xaver Ruegg – Bass
Dominic Egli – Drums and cymbals

After three album releases in the ensemble’s previous avatars—Fufu Tryout, More Fufu! and Azania in Mind—the latest iteration of Plurism sees Swiss drummer and bandleader Dominic Egli combine forces with the esteemed South African trumpeter Feya Faku and a stellar cast of musicians with a shared friendship as well as musical sensibility. As before, Pluralism remains anchored in Egli’s intense curiosity about the many colors of African rhythm, melody and groove. The nostalgic sensitivity of his playing is grounded by the bass of Xaver Rüegg, with Faku displaying his uncanny temperament on the trumpet, Mthunzi Mvubu his prolific vocabulary on the alto saxophone and Sisonke Xonti his audacious yet vulnerable style on the tenor saxophone. This time around, each member brings his own compositions to the collective. Plurism remains complex yet simple, explosive yet tender, down-to-earth yet otherworldly, with the musicians always drawing out more from each other and the audience.